top of page


The goal of Oakstone Community School (“OCS”) is to provide education for children with autism spectrum disorder and other disabilities in a smaller instructional environment, with an emphasis on academic, social, and behavioral support.  OCS also endeavors to provide meaningful social interaction between all children by increasing their awareness and tolerance for individual differences, while developing academic competency.  OCS works diligently to support children as they develop social, behavioral, and learning behaviors.

All children should be viewed in terms of their strengths and their capabilities for learning.  Further, these children will not be approached as having a cognitive disorder, but rather a multi-sensory system disorder.  Specifically, interference occurs in the input, processing, and appropriate response to information via the child’s sensory systems.  Therefore, when intervention is applied to deficits in the functions of the sensory systems, learning occurs.


Current Oakstone Community School Board Members:

  • Marla Oppenheimer‎, President

  • Kevin Bacon, Vice President

  • Sherry Chapin‎, Secretary

  • Scott Duffy

  • Eric Yitz Frank

  • Carrie Beare


Oakstone Community School Board Committees

  • Curriculum & Accountability Committee – Marla Oppenheimer & Sherry Chapin, Members

  • Finance Committee – Sherry Chapin (Chair) & Scott Duffy, Members

  • Law/Legal Committee – Kevin Bacon (Chair) & Yitz Frank, Members


Oakstone Community School is sponsored by the Educational Service Center of Central Ohio (ESCCO)

Mailing address:

2080 Citygate Drive
Columbus OH 43291

bottom of page